Skip to main content
Gorgeous Gruesome Faces

Gorgeous Gruesome Faces

Current price: $19.99
Publication Date: November 7th, 2023
Publisher:
Roaring Brook Press
ISBN:
9781250864994
Pages:
320
Charter Books
On hand, as of Apr 24 2:22am
(Young Adult)
On Our Shelves Now

Description

A cutthroat K-pop competition leads to a dark obsession in this twisty horror-romance, perfect for fans of She Is a Haunting

"A perfect blend of folk horror and dazzling showbiz that will grip you from page one." ―Trang Thanh Tran, New York Times-bestselling author of She is a Haunting

"The sweetest spot between horror and romance." ―Chloe Gong, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of These Violent Delights

You’ll love them to death . . .

THEN:

Sunny Lee is on the top of the world. She’s one third of Sweet Cadence, the hottest up-and-coming teen pop group, alongside her new BFFs, Candie and Mina. The three are inseparable as they ride their way to the top of the charts, even as Candie and Sunny fight to resist the growing spark between them. But when a shocking scandal breaks, the group is suddenly torn apart. Then the unthinkable – Mina dies tragically right before Sunny and Candie’s eyes. And Sunny suspects the dark and otherworldly secrets she and Candie were keeping may have had something to do with it . . .

NOW:

For the past two years, Sunny has spent her days longing for her former life and her nights wondering just what caused Mina's death. So when she discovers that Candie is attending a new K-pop workshop right in her hometown, Sunny has no choice but to follow her there. Candie might be chasing stardom again, but Sunny is only after one thing: answers.

At the workshop, the lines between nightmare and reality start to blur as Sunny is haunted by ghostly visions and her competitors' bodies turn up bizarrely maimed and mutilated. To survive the twisted carnage, Sunny will have to expose the ugly truth behind the workshop’s spotlights and the sinister forces swirling around Candie. Stitched with cutting commentary on the ugly side of stardom and impossible beauty standards, Linda Cheng’s mind-bending thriller will have readers screaming and swooning for more.

About the Author

Linda Cheng was born in Taiwan and spent her childhood moving between cultures and continents. She received her BFA from the Savannah College of Art and Design, and worked as an art director across South Carolina and Georgia where she developed a deep love for sweet tea, grits, and Southern Gothic stories. She currently resides in Vancouver, Canada with her family. Gorgeous Gruesome Faces is her debut novel.

Praise for Gorgeous Gruesome Faces

Praise for Gorgeous Gruesome Faces
*A PopSugar Best YA Book of the Year*
*A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year*
*A CrimeReads Best of the Year Pick*

★ "Haunting and magnetic . . . an example of masterfully executed psychological horror that readers will find difficult to put down." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"This is the kind of horror that will haunt you—a searing portrayal of the damage of impossible beauty standards, the crushing pressure of perfection, and the cruelty of online culture. Mesmerizing, heartbreaking, and absolutely terrifying." —Marie Lu, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of Legend

"A perfect blend of folk horror and dazzling showbiz that will grip you from page one. Cheng unravels how the exquisite sweetness—and toxicity—of female friendships is both dangerous and key to survival." —Trang Thanh Tran, New York Times-bestselling author of She is a Haunting

"Gorgeous Gruesome Faces is a seductive and darkly glittering exploration of the price of fame and friendship, set against the spectacle of a deadly K-pop competition.” —Julie C. Dao, author of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns

"Gorgeous Gruesome Faces is a thrill ride—but it’s also so much more. If you peel back its slick and flawless skin, you’ll find a nuanced portrait on fandom and idols, obsession and love, and how easily all lines can blur." —Joan He, New York Times-bestselling author of The Ones We're Meant to Find

"So perfectly titled. Gorgeous Gruesome Faces has found the sweetest spot between horror and romance, hitting the mark in every manner." —Chloe Gong, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of These Violent Delights

"Gorgeous Gruesome Faces is a rollercoaster of a story that had me screaming at the final, stomach-dropping descent. Cheng pulls back the shiny surface of the K-pop world to reveal the darkness and terror hidden underneath. An imaginative horror for readers who enjoy books that take them on wild, unforgettable rides." —Judy I. Lin, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of A Magic Steeped in Poison

"Gorgeous Gruesome Faces goes to places I never expected. A haunting meditation on love and fame from a fresh new voice in horror." —Goldy Moldavsky, New York Times-bestselling author of The Mary Shelley Club and Lord of the Fly Fest

"A darkly addicting and deliciously twisty tale of horror and romance infused with East Asian mythology and set in the dazzling world of idol competitions. Will make for a decadent addition to the YA thriller category.” —Amélie Wen Zhao, New York Times-bestselling author of Song of Silver, Flame Like Night

"A glittering, gory page-turner, Gorgeous Gruesome Faces is your next obsession." —Gina Chen, New York Times-bestselling author of Violet Made of Thorns

"An electrifying debut made of sweat, sparkles, and blood – and an unsettling look at the bone-crushing pressure young girls face in the world of entertainment. Cheng’s debut is a chilling tale full of turns you’ll never expect." —Andrew Joseph White, New York Times-bestselling author of Hell Followed With Us

"Gorgeous Gruesome Faces peels away the seemingly flawless skin of pop stardom and exposes the grisly insides of navigating an industry known to sacrifice hopes and dreams at the altar of fame. Chen delivers an unflinching look at the struggle of coming of age in the spotlight under the crushing pressure to succeed and at the same time delivers an emotional story of first love and genuine female friendships. Cinematic, gripping, and downright terrifying, this is a performance that you won’t want to miss." —Liselle Sambury, author of Blood Like Magic and Blood Like Fate

"Thrilling...and harrowing." —Publishers Weekly

"In addition to nuanced characterization, this fast-paced sapphic thriller tackles themes of the social media preoccupation with celebrity love lives, the impossible beauty standards expected of teen idols, and a culture that ruthlessly wields power over teens girls desperate for their own agency." —BCCB

"Cheng’s writing is hypnotizing, and the eerie feeling permeates the story...Full of ghosts, drama, and danger, this is a great choice for horror lovers." —Paste Magazine

"A fantastic exploration of the true cost of fame, where there will be blood." —The Nerd Daily

A YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults
A Nerd Daily Most Anticipated Book of the Year
An NYPL Best Book for Young Adults